About The Autosport Awards

Now in its 36th year, the Autosport Awards is the motorsport industry's most prestigious awards event, the only one to celebrate achievement across all the major series of the sport.

Held every year on the first Sunday of December at London's prestigious Grosvenor House Hotel, the evening is firmly established in the international motorsport calendar as the event for the sport's leading lights to gather and celebrate the year just passed, whilst rubbing shoulders with the legends and power-brokers of the industry. Notable sponsors have included Mercedes Benz, Castrol, BMW and Pirelli.

More than 1,200 guests walk the red carpet and enjoy a gala evening of gourmet food, premium wines and silver service, beginning with a champagne reception before moving through to London's largest ballroom. The event is promoted on demand in over thirty countries on Motorsport.TV, as well as being live streamed on Autosport.com, Motorsport.com.

Over the years the event has hosted most of motor racing's biggest characters and most famous names, including Ayrton Senna, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Sir Stirling Moss, Mario Andretti, Emerson Fittipaldi, Richard Petty, Sir Jackie Stewart, Dale Earnhardt and Bernie Ecclestone. Guests from outside of the motorsport world have included Hollywood stars like Chris Hemsworth, Ron Howard Ashley Judd and sports stars such as Sir Chris Hoy and Mark Cavendish.

The Awards themselves are voted for by the readers of Autosport.com and Autosport magazine and include categories such as International Racing Driver of the Year, Racing Car of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Two special awards, the Gregor Grant and John Bolster Awards, recognize Lifetime Achievement and Technical Excellence and past recipients have included Alain Prost, Niki Lauda, Colin McRae and Sir Patrick Head.

The long-established Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award identifies the hottest new British driver talent and has helped to launch the successful careers of stars including David Coulthard, Dario Franchitti, Jenson Button, Anthony Davidson, Paul di Resta George Russell and Lando Norris. Aston Martin has become a new partner for the Award in 2019, replacing McLaren after 30 years. The judging panel, headed by F1 legend Derek Warwick, puts them through their paces on a two-day evaluation test at Silverstone Circuit in MSV Formula 2, Garage 59-run Aston Martin Vantage GT3 and Ligier LMP3 cars. The winner receives tests in a Red Bull F1 car and Aston Martin Vantage GTE World Endurance Championship machine, an Arai helmet and £200,000.

The Autosport Awards is the unmissable night in the motorsport calendar.