Autosport Awards -
the Biggest Night
in Motorsport



International Racing Driver of the Year

Open to professional racing drivers competing at an international level

Valtteri Bottas
Formula 1's new flying Finn. Led the line during the renaissance of Williams, racking up a sequence of podiums along the way
winnerLewis Hamilton
Suffered misfortune from the very opening round but refused to let it get him down. Two race-winning streaks were quite superb
Andre Lotterer
Arguably the fastest prototype driver in the world, he scored his third Le Mans 24 Hours success and even made his F1 bow
Will Power
After years of playing the bridesmaid role, he finally nailed his first IndyCar title after a tough fight with Helio Castroneves
Daniel Ricciardo
Was expected to find Sebastian Vettel a tough team-mate, then won a trio of races to rewrite the Red Bull dynamic.
Nico Rosberg
In the thick of the title fight with Hamilton, he's raised his game to a genuine world title contender - and with a steely edge too

Racing car of the year

Open to cars competing in any class of circuit racing

Dominated its first season in the DTM as the venerable M3 was put out to pasture. Marco Wittmann drove it to the title
All-new regulations allowed Citroen to fly out of the blocks in a mega first World Touring Car campaign
winnerMercedes W05
The class of the F1 field, it combined the best engine with a superb chassis and aerodynamic package
Red Bull RB10
Showed Red Bull's design strength as Adrian Newey's car won three grands prix despite its engine deficiency
Toyota TS040
Although Le Mans success remains elusive, the World Endurance Championship proved otherwise
Williams FW36
Didn't have the wide operating window of the Mercedes, but slippery FW36 was often the best of the rest

International Rally Driver of the Year

Open to professional or semi-professional rally drivers in international events

Andreas Mikkelsen
Showed much improved speed and consistency. Now capable of living on the edge and trading times with illustrious team-mates
Elfyn Evans
Took his time learning the trickier events, but showed speed on the ones he knew in his rookie season at rallying's highest level
Jari-Matti Latvala
Finland win was highlight of a season where the Finn really came of age in the VW team. A genuine threat to Ogier now
Kris Meeke
Started first full WRC season with stunning podium on the Monte and grew in confidence. Speed in Finland was outstanding
winnerSebastien Ogier
This was a near-perfect season for the Frenchman, who secured his third straight title with three rallies to spare this year.
Thierry Neuville
First win for him and Hyundai in Germany might have been fortuitous, but it's reward for hard work, speed and commitment

Rally car of the year

Open to cars competing in rallying from international to national level

Citroen DS 3 WRC
Continued to run at sharp end of the WRC this season, but struggled to keep pace with the VWs in the rough stuff
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
M-Sport worked hard without manufacturer support to keep it on level terms with the best of the rest
Hyundai i20 WRC
Not much hope of a podium when they arrived, but a top three was done in Mexico and a win followed in Germany
There might have been the odd quarrel over who took the win, but a third Dakar success on the bounce shows the Mini's lasting pace
Porsche 911
Hit the stages via private teams such as Tuthill, but rocketed to the top of the charts for fan appeal. Noisy & sideways still works best
winnerVolkswagen Polo R WRC
Another dominant year; sublime in just its second season in competition. Records continue to be broken

British competition driver of the year

Open to British drivers competing at international level

Jenson Button
Another solid season from McLaren's F1 elder statesman
Mike Conway
A pair of IndyCar wins, plus a new opportunity with Toyota in the prototype ranks
Anthony Davidson
Secured WEC crown with Toyota, and Le Mans podium
winnerLewis Hamilton
His most successful year in F1 yet, with 11 wins and a second world championship
Alex Lynn
GP3 title winner with Carlin after a strong season
Jolyon Palmer
Stormed to GP2 title with some barnstorming performances

National driver of the year

Open to drivers racing in BTCC, British GT or Formula 3

Martin Cao
Won British F3 title after tight battle with Matt Rao, helped by 15 podiums
Andrew Jordan
Bolstered his BTCC title defence with four wins
James Rossiter
Leading Japan's domestic GT series into final round for Lexus
Gordon Shedden
Three victories and third place in the BTCC with Honda
Jason Plato
Half a dozen BTCC wins for MG and took the title down to final round
winnerColin Turkington
A second BTCC title in five years for WSR BMW squad

Rookie of the year

Open to professional racing drivers in their first season racing in their respective categories

winnerDaniil Kvyat
Impressed after huge jump from GP3 to F1 with Toro Rosso, scoring on debut
Kyle Larson
Chip Ganassi's protege joined NASCAR's top tier with five top-5 finishes
Kevin Magnussen
Podium finish on his F1 debut in Melbourne was major highlight
Esteban Ocon
Nine wins on his way to European F3 title with Prema team
Stoffel Vandoorne
McLaren junior won on his GP2 debut, and three poles on the trot
Max Verstappen
Scored 10 wins in Euro F3 to earn Toro Rosso F1 call-up

British club driver of the year

Open to British drivers in any class of TOCA supports or equivalent and below

Ben winnerBarnicoat
Racing Steps and McLaren-backed rookie won FR2.0 NEC
Mike Bushell
Team Pyro racer took Clio Cup UK glory after a superb second half of 2014
Joe Fulbrook
Experienced Golf-er made it a hat-trick of titles in the VW Cup
Charlie Robertson
Stellar rookie Ginetta GT4 Supercup campaign
George Russell
BRDC F4 champion and Formula Renault ALPS frontunner
Josh Webster
GT rookie won the Porsche Carrera Cup in scholarship year